Executive Team


Dr Chan Cheah:

Chan holds a PhD from Curtin University (Western Australia). She was a corporate management professional in the banking and finance, ICT,  management consulting, Australian Government and many other industry sectors. She currently an academic in Monash & RMIT universities and engages in digital innovation research and development, and provides enterprise and service architecture expertise in ICT startup incubation and commercialization projects. She has been an active community cancer and palliative care advocate and an “good governance” activist & future-proofing reformist in local government.

Assoc Professor  Sharif As-Saber:

Sharif holds a PhD in international and comparative management from the University of Tasmania, He is an academic and social responsibility activist and the Foundation Director of Master of International Business Program, RMIT University. His specialisations are in the fields of anti-corruption, social re-regulation, international business, call centre management, geopolitics and international education. Sharif is active in civic participation, as the Chairman of the premier governance-related organisation within the Asia Pacific region, Network of Asia Pacific Schools and Institutes of Public Administration & Governance (NAPSIPAG). He is the Secretary and Treasurer of the Australia and New Zealand International Business Academy (ANZIBA).

Dr Viberto Solochan:

Viberto holds PhD from The Australian National University. He was an political science academic, a senior diplomat in The Australian Diplomatic Corps and MD/CEO of several companies. He currently manages innovation incubation and commercialization for new fintech and other digital business start-ups, and will help bring these expertise to deploy sustainable platform strategies and digital advocacy & fundraising capabilities for all active ratepayer-advocates in Australia.

Max Dumais:

Max is a well-known and experienced strategic thinker, government and community networker and facilitator. He setup and was CEO of the De Bono Institute based on the Lateral Thinking methods of Dr. Edward de Bono, here in Australia for its first six years. He is a social entrepreneur who has established a number of such start-ups including Philanthropy Australia, the Volunteer Resource Centre and the Northern Territory Council of Social Services and the Darwin Disaster Welfare Council following Cyclone Tracy. Max is still very actively engaged in community development in advocacy organisations and managing his own business “Ahead of the Game Pty Ltd” specialising in organisational leadership & innovation development training programs. Max was also an ex Mayor and councillor in the City of Malvern, now known as Stonnington.

Marlene Bottrell:

Marlene is currently a retiree, actively engaged in community projects and advocating for the elderly. Prior to retirement, Marlene was the Victorian Manager of Australian Institute of Professional Counsellors. Being a retiree and pensioner, Marlene has a rich pool of knowledge and networks that would help Ratepayers Australia understand the liveability needs of older people, especially women, and the challenges they face in paying rates and accessing community and aged care support from councils and other government agencies.

Dr Wahed Waheduzzaman:

Wahed is an academic, specializing in Corporate Governance And Stakeholder Engagement; Local Government, Public Administration, international business and management. He is a well know academic author in local government in developing countries and in Australia. He will bring local Government and Governance latest knowledge, research and development capabilities to Ratepayers Australia.

Advisory Board:

Ratepayers Australia has access to a number of government and industry experts, who not only provide advisory support, but also develop networks and share their corporate and community management wisdom with Ratepayers Australia, and some will also be engage in initiating and managing strategic projects.

The current list of people in the Advisory team are:

Dr Peter Ellyard

Peter is a well known local futurist, strategist and speaker on emerging global trends, Peter is a former Executive Director for the Australian Commission for the Future. He has held CEO positions in a number of public sector organizations including two associated with Environment and Planning, and one with Industry and Technology. He also served as Chief of Staff of a Federal Minister. He is Adjunct Professor of Intergenerational Strategies at the University of Queensland (formerly at Curtin University), and is an Elected Fellow of the Australian College of Educators, the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand, and the Australian Institute of Management. He is also an elected Member of the Union of International Associations, based in Brussels. Peter was also a Senior Advisor to the United Nations on on climate change and the biodiversity programs and management consultant to the United Nations’s environment (UNEP), development P and Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) programs. Peter is presently involved in development of new future proofing systems that engage and empower people in designing  their individual and community futures.

Major Sean Darbyshire:

Sean is an active participant in community development and an advocate for good governance in local government. He is the president of the Mt Waverley Rotary Club. He works in the Department of Defense.

Keith Yeo:

Keith is qualified with two accounting and ober management qualifications. He has worked about 34 years in the Victorian Local Government sector, with 27 years as a Director at Banyule Council and the former Shire of Diamond Valley. Keith has a whole of organisational experience in council corporate management, covering financial, corporate service, contract, HR, risk, IT, corporate strategy planning & deployment projects, communications and governance areas, and audit programs.  Keith is  also a fellow of CFA and is currently and actively engage in the CPA Australia Third Age Network ie TAN. He also spent seven years as a Director on the Procurement Australia Board, which is owned by local government councils.

Lynette Keleher:

Lynette was an ex councillor of Casey. Her professional background includes retail management and administration in the retail, state government and primary healthcare sectors. She also has experience in local government administrative functions, as  past Councillor of Casey.

Brian Oates:

Brian was an ex-councillor of Casey. His professional expertise is in the area of industrial relationships in state and federal union organisation, bringing to Ratepayers Australia capacity building in negotiation, mediation and dispute resolution and community education and training areas.


Frank Deutsch

Frank was an ex councilor from Ararat Rural City Council. He currently owns and operates a tourism business in Ararat. He was from the mining sector.

Our National Networks

Click org structure to see our emerging operating model, or
Go back to homepage